## **SONOMA COUNTY**

Name	Elected	Oath of Office	CAA President	Retired	Deceased
J A Reynolds				1852	
R F Box				1853	
S D Towne				1854	10/6/1891?
W G Lee				1856	
Nath Nuckols				1858	
Chas C Snider				1860	
James M Henry				1862	
William R Morris				1864	
G W Huie				1865	
A J Gordon	1867			1870	
W C Gaines	1871			1874	8/27/1920
George W Sparks				1878	
George W Lewis				1884	3/31/1915
William Longmore	1886			1893	10/7/1904
M.V. Vanderhoof				1896-97?	
Frank Dowd	1905		1905	1912	
			1907		
JC Smith / JC Hoke Smith	1914			1921	
John M. Laughlin			1933	1934-39?	11/5/1941
Albert A. Baudau				1942	12/1/1954
R. J. "Bob" McMullen	1947			1970	3/29/1972
Ernest L. Comalli	11/3/1970	1/4/1971	1978	1985	8/30/2003
Stephen R. Olsen	12/03/1985 **	12/10/1985		1986	
James J. Gallagher	11/04/1986	1/5/1987		10/29/01	11/29/2005
Eeve T. Lewis	10/30/2001 **	10/30/2001		12/2006	4/5/2016
Janice Atkinson	6/6/2006	1/7/2007		12/2012	
William F. Rousseau	12/11/2012**	12/10/2012		12/2018	
Deva Marie Proto	6/05/2018	12/19/2018			

Sonoma County was created on February 18, 1850. It was one of the original twenty-seven counties of the State of California. "Sonoma" is an Indian word meaning "valley of the moon", because of the resemblance of this valley to the shape of that orb. In 1824, when Padre Jose Actimira baptized the chief of the Cho-cuy-en Indians, he gave him the baptismal name of Sonoma, and from this source the county derived its name.

- \* H.M. Moreno, <u>Moreno=s Dictionary of Spanish-Named California Cities and Towns</u>, (San Luis Obispo, CA, 1916)
- \*\* Appointed