ORANGE COUNTY

Name	Elected	Oath of Office	CAA President	Retired	Deceased
Fred C. Smythe	08/01/1889			1891	
Jacob Ross	01/01/1891			1894	
Frank Vegely	01/01/1895			1906	
Walter M. Scott	01/01/1907			1910	1910
James Sleeper	01/11/1911		1921	1944	1944
Maurice F. Enderle	09/06/1944		1950	1951	09/17/2016
Hugh J. Plumb	11/20/1951		1960	1964	02/18/1967
A. Hinshaw	1965			1972	01/21/2016
J. Vallerga	1972			1975	
Bradley L. Jacobs	12/01/1975	12/01/1975		1998	
Webster J. Guillory	11/03/1998	12/28/1998		2014	
Claude Parrish	11/04/2014	01/05/2015			

Orange County was created on March 11, 1889. This county was given its name by the Legislature because of the orange groves for which it is justly famous. *

^{*} H.M. Moreno, <u>Moreno's Dictionary of Spanish-Named California Cities and Towns</u>, (San Luis Obispo, CA, 1916)