MONTEREY COUNTY

Name	Elected	Oath of Office	CAA President	Retired	Deceased
W.E.P. Hartnell	1850				
William Bowen	1851				
Henry Cocks	1853				
James T. Gardner	1855				
John R. Porter	1856				
W.E. Lovett	1857				
George Hale	1858				
Uriah Burns	1859				
S. Osio	1862				
William V. McGarvey	1863				
W.L. Carpenter	1876				
S.J. Westlake	1883				
William A. Anderson	1891				
John B. Bennett	1899				
William J. Smith	1907				
George S. Gould, Jr.	1915				
Walter R. Tavernetti	09/01/1919				
Arlo H. McKinsey	09/01/1953				
Donald P. Stewart	08/15/1957 **	08/15/1957	1973	12/30/1982	
Bruce A. Reeves	11/02/1982	01/03/1983		12/30/1998	
Joseph F. Pitta	06/02/1998	01/04/1999		12/2002	
Steve Vagnini	06/05/2002	01/02/2003			

Page 1 of 2 Updated May, 2018

Monterey County was created on February 18, 1850. This county is one of the original twenty-seven counties of the State of California. It derived its name from the Bay of Monterey. The word itself is composed of the Spanish words "monte" and "rey", and literally means "king of the forest". The bay was discovered by Sebastian Vizcaino in 1603, and named in honor of his friend and patron, Gaspar de Zuniga, Count of Monterey and Viceroy of Mexico. *

Walter R. Tavernetti served as part-time field deputy for 4 years prior to appointment. Arlo H. McKinsey began employment in office in 1929.

Donald P. Stewart began employment in office August 1, 1946.

Office of Assessor & Clerk-Recorder combined in 1995.

- * H.M. Moreno, <u>Moreno's Dictionary of Spanish-Named California Cities and Towns</u>, (San Luis Obispo, CA, 1916)
- ** Appointed

Page 2 of 2 Updated May, 2018